Ex-presidents to hail Israel at 60


Former U.S. Presidents George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton will head a committee celebrating Israel’s 60th anniversary.

Clinton and Bush will serve as honorary chairs of the National Committee for Israel 60, according to the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations.

“We are excited and pleased that these two most distinguished American leaders have agreed to serve as the honorary co-chairmen of the National Committee for Israel 60,” the Presidents Conference told JTA.

Israel’s 60th Independence Day, which will be celebrated on May 8, 2008, will be marked by a year of events across the United States beginning early next year, according to Malcolm Hoenlein, the executive vice chairman of the Presidents Conference.

Recommended from JTA