Foundation names Wolf Prize winners


An Israel foundation named the winners of its Wolf Prizes in chemistry and mathematics.


The chemistry prize was jointly awarded Monday to William Moerner of Stanford University and Allen Bard of the University of Texas for their work in the creation of a new field of science called single molecule spectroscopy and electrochemistry.


The mathematics prize is shared by Pierre Deligne and Phillip Griffiths of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, N.J., and David Mumford of Brown University for their contributions to several fields in mathematics.


The $100,000 award in each field will be presented by Israeli President Shimon Peres at a Knesset ceremony in Jerusalem on May 25.


Five annual Wolf Prizes have been awarded since 1978 to outstanding scientists and artists. The Wolf Foundation was established by the late German-born inventor, diplomat and philanthropist Dr. Ricardo Wolf, who lived in Cuba and became Fidel Castro’s ambassador to Israel.

Recommended from JTA