More VIPs join Israel celebrations


Ten former U.S. government leaders have joined the committee overseeing celebrations for Israel’s 60th birthday.

Ex-Vice Presidents Walter Mondale and Dan Quayle, along with every living former secretary of state, are the new members, the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations announced. The list includes Madeleine Albright, James Baker, Warren Christopher, Lawrence Eagleburger, Alexander Haig, Henry Kissinger, Colin Powell and George Shultz.

The dignitaries join Presidents George H. W. Bush and Bill Clinton, who signed on earlier to be honorary co-chairmen.

Recommended from JTA