Miami Jewish teachers awarded


JERUSALEM (JTA) — Seven teachers in Jewish educational institutions in Miami have been awarded teacher excellence and creativity awards.

The 2008 awards, sponsored by the Targum Shlishi, a Raquel and Aryeh Rubin Foundation, provide a cash prize for each recipient to be applied to a continuing education opportunity.

The award is administered by the Center for the Advancement of Jewish Education Miami, which received a $50,000, five-year grant from Targum Shlishi, to promote and recognize Jewish educational leadership in the Greater Miami Jewish community. Targum Shlishi is dedicated to providing a range of creative solutions to problems facing Jewry.

"Jewish education has been in crisis for years," said Aryeh Rubin, founder and director of Targum Shlishi. "Part of the reason for the difficulties is that unfortunately, Jewish educators are not adequately remunerated and do not receive the recognition this noble profession deserves. It takes an extraordinarily dedicated individual to go into this profession. Our award recognizes that dedication."

The seven award-winners are Barbara Bernstein, Arlene Fishbein, Emily Friedman, Susana Novak, Eilat Schmalbach, Maya Slavin and Ayala Ze-ev.

Recommended from JTA