Berlin Holocaust Memorial architect wins Wolf Prize


JERUSALEM (JTA) — The American who designed the Holocaust Memorial in Berlin was one of two architects recognized with a 2010 Wolf Prize.

The selection of Peter Eisenman, as well as British architect David Chipperfield, to receive the prize in architecture was announced Wednesday.

Eisenman designed the Holocaust Memorial in Berlin in memory of the Jews of Europe who perished in World War II. Inaugurated in 2005, the memorial is situated south of Berlin’s Brandenburg Gate, the site of the Third Reich’s headquarters, which housed Adolf Hitler’s office.

He also designed The City of Culture of Galicia, Santiago de Compostela, Spain, and the Wexner Center at Ohio State University.

Chipperfield designed Berlin’s Neues Museum, as well as London’s River & Rowing Museum and the Museum of Modern Literature in Marbach, Germany.

The Wolf Prize is awarded yearly in the arts, in rotation, in architecture, music, painting and sculpture. The $100,000 prize will be conferred by Israeli President Shimon Peres during a special session of Knesset on May 13.

The Israel-based Wolf Foundation was established by the late German-born inventor, diplomat and philanthropist Dr. Ricardo Wolf, who served as Cuban ambassador to Israel from 1961 to 1973.

Recommended from JTA