Paraguay, Cyprus recognize Palestinian state


JERUSALEM (JTA) — Paraguay joined several Latin and South American states in recognizing a Palestinian state.

The country’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced Jan. 27 that it recognized a "free and independent" state "with the borders of June 4, 1967," according to reports.

Paraguay "reaffirms its conviction that negotiations between Israel and Palestine should re-start with the goal of reaching peace and security for both nations," the ministry’s statement reportedly continued.

Bolivia, Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Ecuador, Chile, Guyana and Peru all have recognized a Palestinian state, some specifying that it be located within 1967 borders, in the past two months.

The Palestinian news agency WAFA reported on Sunday that Cyprus President Dimitris Christofias sent a letter to Palestinian Authority President Mahmoud Abbas in which he reportedly recognized a Palestinian state within 1967 borders.

Cyprus’ foreign minister over the weekend met with his Palestinian counterpart and reportedly reiterated his country’s support of a Palestinian state on the 1967 borders with Jerusalem as its capital.

Earlier this month, Russian President Dmitry Medvedev during a visit to the Palestinian Authority in Jericho reiterated Russia’s recognition more than two decades ago of an independent Palestinian state, saying that "We supported and will support the inalienable right of the Palestinian people to an independent state with its capital in east Jerusalem."

Last week, Ireland upgraded the status of the Palestinian mission to the country to an embassy and promoted the head of the mission to the status of ambassador.

Recommended from JTA