JTA takes 6 Rockower Awards for journalistic excellence


NEW YORK (JTA) — JTA won six awards, including three for first place, in the 32nd Annual Simon Rockower Awards for Excellence in Jewish Journalism.

The awards were handed out this week at the American Jewish Press Association’s annual conference, which this year was held in Seattle, Wash.

Click here to view the full list of winners and judges.

The JTA’s first-place awards went to managing editor Uriel Heilman, web content producer Uri Fintzy and Washington Bureau chief Ron Kampeas. Heilman won The Boris Smolar Award for Excellence in Enterprise or Investigative Reporting for “Can Greg Schneider steer the Claims Conference past a $57m fraud?” Fintzy won The Award for Excellence in a Multi-Media Story with “Holy hoops — The story of the Beren Academy basketball team.” And Kampeas took the Award for Excellence in Blogging on “Capital J.”

JTA also won three second-place awards: Chavie Lieber won The Award for Excellence in Feature Writing with “For Jewish Deadheads, the music never stopped”; Dvora Meyers won The Award for Excellence in Arts and Criticism with “Is HBO’s ‘Girls’ about young women’s struggles, or some women’s privileges?”; and columnist Edmon J. Rodman won The Award for Excellence in Personal Essay for “Dressing like my Jewish mother.”

Andrew Silow-Carroll won The Louis Rapoport Award for Excellence in Commentary for his work in the New Jersey Jewish News based in Whippany, N.J. The same award for smaller publications went to Hillel Goldberg of the Intermountain Jewish News in Denver for his article titled “Black hole and the light of faith.” The Award for Excellence in Single Commentary went to Gershom Gorenberg for “Letter from Jerusalem: Triage for founding values” in Hadassah Magazine. The same prize for smaller publications was awarded to Leon Cohen for his piece in The Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle titled “We want to be inclusive, but you must want to be included.”

Larry Yudelson, Charles Zusman, Josh Lipowsky and Abigail Klein Leichman of the The Jewish Standard in Teaneck, N.J., took The Award for Excellence in News Reporting for their combined efforts in a story titled “Love and hate in Bergen County.” Pauline Yearwood of the Chicago Jewish News won the same award for smaller publications with “Campus Showdown.”

Recommended from JTA