Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

C.J.F.W.F. Mission Leaves to Assess Philanthropic Programs Abroad

June 29, 1964
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Leaders of Jewish community organizations will leave for Europe and Israel tomorrow to appraise overseas Jewish philanthropic programs which annually receive over $60,000,000 from community groups. As official representatives of the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds, the delegation will consult with high-ranking government and welfare officials in Israel, and with the heads of major Jewish organizations in England, France and Austria.

In Israel, the group will scrutinize welfare programs stemming from the continued high rate of immigration and the country’s backlog of 200,000 economically unabsorbed immigrants. In addition, the delegates will explore means to strengthen the nation’s health, welfare and educational systems, and will investigate the possibility of utilizing American experience and techniques to help achieve this objective.

The Council’s overseas mission will also attempt to assess additional philanthropic requirements which may arise following the end of German reparations to Israel. Since 1954, the German reparation payments have totaled $70,000,000 annually. Twenty million dollars of this sum has been used each year for direct assistance to the victims of Nazi persecution now residing in Israel, Europe and elsewhere.

In Paris, the group will study the relief and rehabilitation program of the Fonds Socials Juif Unitie for 100,000 Jewish refugees in France. In Austria, the delegates will assess the total complex of emigration services maintained in Vienna by the Jewish Agency for Israel, the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee and the United States. The delegation will present its findings and recommendations to U.S. and Canadian Jewish communities.

The 14-member delegation is headed by Louis Stern of Newark and Irving Cane of Cleveland. Mr. Stern is president of the CJFWF, and Mr. Kane is chairman of the organization’s Overseas Services Committee.

Other members of the delegation are: Mrs. Joseph Cohen of New Orleans; M.E. Glass of Cleveland; Lawrence E. Irell of Los Angeles; Judge Theodore Levin of Detroit; Mr. and Mrs. A. Louis Oresman of New York; Louis P. Smith of Boston; Cecil Usher of Montreal; Melvin S. Zaret of Milwaukee; Henry L. Zucker of Cleveland; Philip Bernstein and Louis D. Horwitz, both of New York.

Recommended from JTA