Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Cabinet-agency Coordination Body to Formulate 1960 Immigration Plans

December 29, 1959
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Premier David Ben-Gurion and Dr. Nahum Goldmann, president of the Jewish-Agency, agreed this week-end to convene a meeting of the Government-Agency coordination committee for further discussion of the division of work in the absorption of immigrants and the allocation of costs during the coming year. The decision was reached at a meeting of the two to discuss Government-Agency cooperation during the coming year.

The Cabinet yesterday named the government members of the coordination committee. They are Mr. Ben-Gurion, Finance Minister Levi Eshkol, Labor Minister Giora Josephtal, Health Minister Israel Barzilai. Transport Minister Yitzhak Ben-Aharon, Justice Minister Pinchas Rosen, Interior Minister Moshe Shapiro and Minister Without Portfolio Abba Eban. Members of the committee representing the Jewish Agency are Zalman Shazar, Eliahu Dobkin, S.Z. Shragai, Zvi Lurie, Yehuda Braginski, Moshe Kol, Meir Grossman and Dr. Nahum Goldmann, ex-officio when in Israel.

Recommended from JTA