Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Conference of Palestine Jewry: Second Annual Meeting of Jewish Elected Assembly: Disappointments Fol

March 2, 1932
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The organisation of the Jewish Communities in the Kenesseth Israel, the officially recognised Palestine Jewish Community, the disappointments which have followed the issue of Mr. Ramsay acDonald’s letter of authoritative interpretation of the hite Paper and the political perils confronting the Yishub, were the points dealt with by #. I. Ben Zvi, the Palestine Labour leader, in opening the second annual meeting of the Assefath Hanivcharim (Palestine Jewish Elected Assembly), at Tel Aviv to-night.

Mr. Ben Zvi urged the Yishub to concentrate on immigration and labour activities. He went on to pay tribute to the memory of the members of the Yadjur Labour Settlement who fell victims to the shooting outrage on the Haifa Road, and to the Jewish boy and girl, Stahl and Zohar, who were murdered by Bedouins while they were on a walking tour.

We then congratulated Mr. M. M. Ussischkin, the head of the Jewish National Fund, amid a burst of applause, on his completion of a half-century of Zionist work.

The High Commissioner, General Sir Arthur “auchope, sent a message expressing his hope that the meeting would be fruitful for the Yishub and for all Palestine.

Ex-Deputy Farbstein, member of the Jewish Agency Executive, addressed the gathering, urging the Yishub to assist the Polish Jews to remove the obstacles preventing them from emigrating to Palestine, which, he said, is the aim of all Polish Jews.

Chief Rabbi Kook, sent a message to the meeting, and Chief Rabbi Jacob Leir, the head of the Sephardic Community, and Mr. Dizengoff, the Mayor of Tel Aviv, delivered speeches of welcome.

Rabbi Ostrowsky supplemented the printed report circulated to the meeting with regard to the position and activities of the Jewish Communities, and Miss #enrietta Szold, former member of the Zionist Executive, spoke on the work of the Social Service Department of the Vaad Leumi, of which she is in charge.

Rabbi Asaaf, Mr. Ben Gurion, Dr. Mossensohn, Mr. Keyuhas, Mr. Joseph Sprinzak, and Mr. Jacob Cohen, a Yemenite representative, have been appointed as the members of the Presidium of the Assembly, in which the Revisionists have decided not to take part.

Recommended from JTA