Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

High U.S. Officials Attend Israel Independence Ball in Washington

June 14, 1965
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

More than 1,200 guests including members of the United States Cabinet, leading congressmen, government officials and outstanding personalities of the theater and concert world attended a gala Independence Ball saluting the State of Israel held tonight under the partonage of Israel Ambassador and Mrs. Avraham Harman.

Headed by Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare Anthony Celebrzze, who with Mrs. Celebrezze served as honorary chairman of the Ball, the following members of the Cabinet were present: Henry H. Fowler, Secretary of the Treasury; Robert S. McNamara, Secretary of Defense; Nicholas Katzenbach, Attorney General; John A. Gronouski, Postmaster General; Oville Freeman, Secretary of Agriculture and W. Willard Wirtz, Secre of Labor. Supreme Court Justices William O. Douglas, Tom C. Clark, Byron R. White and Arthur J. Goldberg were also on hand to pay tribute to Israel on its 17th anniversary.

Sammy Davis Jr., stage and screen actor, was the guest of honor. Ambassador Harman presented Mr. Davis with the Israel Artistic and Cultural Award and praised him for helping to advance the development of the State of Israel in “a spirit of devoted friendship.”

Recommended from JTA