Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Iowa Accepts $100,000 Quota for United Palestine Appeal

March 16, 1926
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

(Jewish Daily Bulletin)

One hundred thousand dollars was accepted as the quota for Iowa in the United Palestine Appeal, at a conference held here, in which 200 delegates from Davenport, Iowa City, Cedar Rapids, Waterloo, Cedar Falls, Fort Dodge, Sioux City, Council Bluffs, Centerville, Burlington, Albia, Boone, Muscatine, Mason City, Ottumwa and Des Moines participated.

A permanent state organization was perfected. L. Oransky was elected State Chairman, the Vice Chairmen elected are N. W. Pickus of Sioux City, J. Braverman of Iowa City, H. Smulekoff of Cedar Rapids, George Cohen of Burlington, J. J. Frankel of Centerville, Herman Myerson of Council Bluffs, R. Marks of Des Moines, Philip Sitrick of Davenport. Mrs. A. I. Blotcky of Des Moines was chosen secretary and Jos. I. Brody of Des Moines, treasurer.

A resolution was adopted to the effect that any community desiring to conduct a joint drive must first secure the consent of both the state and national committees.

Governor John Hammill of Iowa greeted the conference. H. Steinberg of Chicago, chairman of the Mid West Zionist Region addressed the delegates.

Recommended from JTA