Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Jeno Awards for 1983 Announced

February 17, 1984
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The 1983 Fernando Jeno Awards for literary achievements will go to six writers and poets from Israel, the United States, Canada, Argentina and Mexico, it was announced here today by the panel of judges representing the Cultural Commission of the Central Jewish Committee of Mexico.

The recipients of the $500 prize are Israeli writers Yosef Oren of Rishon LeZion and Zeev Milikowsky of Kibbutz lion; Yehuda Elberg, a novelist from Montreal; poet Eliezer Aronowsky, formerly of Havana and now a resident of Miami; Dr. Marcos Aguinis, an Argentine Jewish writer who is a member of the Argentine government; and Dr. Jaime Laventman, of Mexico. They are being honored for works in Yiddish, Hebrew and Spanish.

Recommended from JTA