Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

News Brief

October 29, 2001
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Philip Roth was awarded the first Franz Kafka Prize. The prize was awarded in Prague for Roth’s lifelong contribution to literature. The American Jewish author will receive $10,000 and a small bronze sculpture of Kafka from the Frank Kafka Society and Prague’s City Hall.

Recommended from JTA