Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Seven Jews on Finance Committee of Democrats

September 18, 1932
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Seven Jews have been named to the Executive Finance Committee of the Democratic Party which will seek to raise $1,500,000 to finance the presidential campaign of Governor Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Henry Morgenthau is a vice-chairman of the Committee, while its members include Bernard M. Baruch, Laurence A. Steinhardt, Jessie I. Straus, Herbert Bayard Swope, Sidney Weinberg and Walter Weinstein, all of New York.

The Jewish Theological Seminary of America announces that two of its graduates, Rabbi Philip A. Langh and Rabbi Ben Zion Bokser, have accepted calls to congregations on the Pacific Coast. Rabbi Langh has been called to the newly organized conservative congregation in Seattle, Washington, and Rabbi Bokser to Vancouver, B. C. Rabbi Langh previously served Congregation Anshe Emet of Chicago, and Congregation Beth El of Chelsea, Mass.; Rabbi Bolser was formerly Rabbi of Congregation Kehilath Israel of the Bronx.

Recommended from JTA