Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Ten Prominent Jews Denationalized by Vichy Government

September 9, 1940
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Ten prominent members of the French Jewish community, including five members of the famous Rothschild banking family, are among 15 persons deprived of their French citizenship by the Vichy Government for having left France between June 10 and 25. Their belongings will be confiscated.

The decree issued by the government struck at the following Jews: Barons Edouard, Robert, Henri, Philippe and Maurise de Rothschild; David Weill, philanthropist and art patron; Edouard Jonas, art dealer and antiquarian; Maurice and Leon Stern, bankers. Elie J. Bois, former editorial writer of the newspaper Le Petit Parisien.

(The United Press reported from Vichy that France expects to add 825,000,000 franch approximately $19,640,000–to its refugee relief fund from the sale of property confiscated from these persons.)

Recommended from JTA