Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

News Brief

September 30, 2005
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The Senate approved John Roberts as the new U.S. chief justice, with support from some Jewish senators. Roberts, 51, was approved 78-22 on Thursday. Jewish senators voted 7-4 on the confirmation: Sens. Norm Coleman (R-Minn.), Russell Feingold (D-Wisc.), Carl Levin (D-Mich.), Joseph Lieberman (D-Conn.), Arlen Specter (R-Pa.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) and Herb Kohl (D-Wisc.) voted yes, while Sens. Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.) voted no.

Recommended from JTA