Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

To Zone Country for Union Extension Work

April 4, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

A committee to draw up plans by which the entire country would be divided into zones, and a regional rabbi be placed in charge of each zone, was empowered at the session of the board of managers of the Department of Synagogue and School Extension of the Union of American Hebrew Congregations in session here Tuesday.

The board of managers heard Rabbis Philip W. Jaffa and Gustave Falk, Regional Rabbis, report on their recent work in small towns, colleges and institutions. Those attending the session included Julius W. Freiberg, chairman; Morton J. Heldman, Simeon M. Johnson, Jacob W. Mack, Herbert C. Octtinger, Sidney Weil, Charles Shohl, Rabbi George Zepin, Rabbi Louis I. Egelson, Rabbi Jacob D. Schwartz, Dr. Emanuel Gamoran, Arthur L. Reinhart, Miss Karline Brown, Rabbi Michael Aaronsohn, and the Regional Rabbis Philip Jaffa and Gustave Falk, all of Cincinnati; Rabbi Abraham Hirschberg, Chicago, Ill.; Joseph S. Schonchal, Colmbus, O., Rabbi Eugene Mannheimer, Des Moines, Ia.; Milton M. Alexander, Detroit; Sol S. Kiser, Indianapolis; Dr. Joseph Rauch, Louisville; Dr. Sidney S. Tedesche, New Haven; Rabbi Joseph S. Kornfeld, Toledo, and Rabbi Jacob B. Pollak, Assistant Director of the New York Committee for School Extension of the Union of American Hebrew Congregations.

Recommended from JTA