Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Weizmann Institute Adds Four New Professional Chairs Aided by Donations from U.S.

January 10, 1972
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The Weizmann Institute of Science at Rehovot, which this year has a record of 101 foreign scientists on campus, has announced the establishment of four new professional Chairs through donation by American philanthropists Albert B. Sabin, Institute president:

The Henry and Bertha Benson chair in mathematics, to which Prof. Samuel Karlin of New Orleans, La., has been appointed; the Norman D. Cohen chair In computer science, to be filled by Prof. Smil Ruhman of the Institute’s Applied Mathematics Department, creator of the “Golem” electronic device; the George W. Dunne chair in chemical physics, to be filled by Prof. Shneior Lifson, head of the chemical Physics Department; and the Joseph Meyerhoff chair in biochemistry, to be filled by Prof. David Elson, dean of the Faculty of Biochemistry and Physics.

Henry Benson is a Montreal industrialist specializing in electronics. Cohen is a prominent Boston-area businessman. Dunne is president of the Cook County (Chicago) Board of Commissioners. Meyerhoff is a Baltimore industrial magnate and philanthropist.

Recommended from JTA