Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Yeshiva Board Elects New Officers

April 10, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Rabbi M. S. Margolies, dean of the Orthodox Rabbinate in the United States, was chosen president of the Board of Directors of the Rabbi Isaac Elchanan Theological Seminary and the Yeshiva College at a meeting of the board last week. Louis Gold was chosen first vice-president; Harry Roggen, second vice-president; Mendel Gottesman, treasurer; Joseph Polstein, comptroller; Isaac Polstein, honorary secretary, and Samuel L. Sar, secretary.

The nomination of Rabbi Margolies was made by Harry Fischel, who was acting president for eighteen months, from which position he announced his retirement. Declaring that after he had given his entire time for three years to the work of the institution while the buildings were in process of construction, he feels that the president of the Yeshiva College should be a man who is an educator, is well known throughout the country and can command the respect of all. Mr. Fischel was chairman of the building committee. Rabbi Margolies’s election was unanimous.

Recommended from JTA