Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Zionist Region Resolves on Palestine Savings Groups

January 10, 1933
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The Hudson Valley Zionist Region, at its second annual convention here yesterday, resolved upon the organization of Palestine savings-investment groups to undertake practical economic work for Palestine in cooperation with the American Economic Committee for Palestine.

Two hundred delegates and guests from thirteen Zionist districts attended the convention, which concluded with a mass meeting at Temple Beth Emeth. Dr. Stephen S. Wise and Morris Rothenberg, president of the Zionist Organization of America, addressed the mass meeting. Joseph S. Shubow, representing the American Economic Committee for Palestine, addressed the afternoon session on the economic development of Palestine.

Officers of the district elected by the convention are: Rabbi Maurice J. Bloom of Newburg, President; Rabbi Sephard Z. Baum, Albany, Harry Wolfe, Poughkeepsie and Nathan Sahr, Schenectady, vice-presidents; Samuel Beeback, Newburg, secretary; M. Ewing Kingston, financial secretary; Louis Laber, Albany, treasurer.

Recommended from JTA