Fourteen Jewish Candidates Elected to British Parliament on Tickets of All Parties
Menu JTA Search

Fourteen Jewish Candidates Elected to British Parliament on Tickets of All Parties

Download PDF for this date

The early returns of the British election show a victory for the Conservatives with a gain of 56 and indicate that a large number of the 32 Jewish candidates running on the tickets of the three contesting parties was elected. The following Jewish candidates have been elected.

Samuel Finburgh, Conservative, member of the Jewish Board of Deputies, elected from the Salford constituency near Manchester. He defeated the labor leader, Ben Tillett.

Major J. Brunel Cohen, Conservative, a son-in-law of Sir Stuart Samuel and secretary of the British Legion. He was re-elected from his constituency of Liverpool.

Sir Arthur Defrece, Conservative, famous theatrical producer. He was re-elected from Blackpool.

Percy Harris, Liberal: Sir Philip Sassoon, Conservative; Samuel Samuel, Conservative, a brother of Lord Bearsted; Dr. G. E. Spero, Liberal, re-elected; M. Turner-Samuels, Laborite; Arthur Samuel, Conservative, re-elected; Emanuel Shin-well, Minister of Mines in MacDonald’s Cabinet; Joseph Sunlight, Liberal; re-elected; Major L. Hore Belisha, Liberal, re-elected.

Particularly interesting is the fact that the Jewish Liberal candidate, Nathan, who ran for election in the constituency of Whitechapel, which is mainly Jewish, was defeated by his Laborite opponent. Gosling, Minister of Transportation in MacDonald’s Cabinet and that Franklin, a Liberal, former Member of Parliament and brother-in-law of Sir Herbert Samuel was defeated in the Jewish constituency, Hackney.

Sir Alfred Mond, Liberal, re-elected; Major Isidor Salmon. Conservative, managing director of the Lyons Teashops and nephew of Sir Joseph Lyons, elected from the constituency of Harrow. Philip Guedalla, Liberal, famous English writer and president of the Zionist Federation in England was defeated.

Colonel Charles Waley Cohen. Liberal. Chairman of the Law Parliamentary Committee of the Board of Jewish Deputies, defeated.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund