Southern Ohio Organizes for United Jewish Campaign
Menu JTA Search

Southern Ohio Organizes for United Jewish Campaign

Download PDF for this date

(Jewish Daily Bulletin)

Organization of Southern Ohio’s drive in the United Jewish Campaign was effected at a conference here yesterday, at which David A. Brown was the principal speaker.

The 100 delegates from Southern Ohio ratified the $1,000,000 quota for Ohio in the United Jewish Campaign, after a stirring address by Mr. Brown.

Samuel Ach was elected regional chairman, Maurice J. Freiberg. Max Manischewitz, Samuel Sturm and Sidney Freiberg, vice chairmen, and Hon. Alfred M. Cohen, president of the I. O. B. B., treasurer.

The executive committee includes Mayor Murray Seasongood, Charles Schoengold, Oscar Berman, Jacob W. Mack, Dr. Boris Bogen, Julius Rauh, Maurice E. Pollak, Max Senior. Charles Stohi, former president of the Union of American Hebrew Congregations, L. S. Roth, Julius Schildt, Herbert Ceuinger, Wm. J. Shroder, Robert Senior, Carl E. Pritz, Sidney E. Pritz, Abe E. Cohen, Sidney Eiserman, Harry Meiss, Arthur Joseph, Emil J. Mayer, Adolph Rosenberg and Gus Hilb. This committee will also act as the Cincinnati executive and chairman Ach has been given authority to add additional representatives for other communities, and all the Rabbis of Southern Ohio are included.

The Dayton committee elected at a conference includes Milton Stern, as chairman and Elmer J. Rauh, vice-chairman; Middleton, Edward Hirsch, chairman and Michael M. Cohen, vice-chairman.

Cincinnati’s campaign will be deferred until after the Community Chest drive has been completed.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund