Arkansas Organizes for United Jewish Campaign
Menu JTA Search

Arkansas Organizes for United Jewish Campaign

Download PDF for this date

Pledges $75,000 (Jewish Daily Bulletin)

A pledge to raise $75,000 for the United Jewish Campaign in the State of Arkansas was made at a State conference of Jewish communal leaders held here yesterday. The campaign is to take place the latter part of April.

Mr. Myron M. Lasker of Little Rock was elected State Chairman; M. L. Altheimer of Little Rock, Treasurer. An Executive Committee of fifty, headed by N. I. Nakdimen of Fort Smith, was elected.

Dr. Henry Moskowitz of New York and Mr. A. D. Cohn, Southern field director for the United Jewish Campaign, addressed the conference.


The New Jersey Council of Jewish Women closed its fifth annual convention at Camden, N. J., with the installation of the following officers for the ensuing year.

Mrs. William Newcorn, Plainfield, president; Mrs. Pauline Levine, Jersey City, first vice-president; Mrs. Gerson Kahn, Atlantic City, second vice-president; Mrs. Philip Wendkos, Collingswood, third vice-president; Mrs. William Krupnick, Mt. Holly, recording secretary; Mrs. Paul Scher, Passaic, corresponding secretary; Mrs. Jacob Joselson, Perth Amboy, treasurer, and Mrs. Joseph Epstein, Elizabeth, auditor.

The conferees chose Long Branch for the next annual meeting.

A resolution endorsing the Towner-Perlman immigration bill, now before Congress, was adopted and forwarded to Mrs. Sydney Cone, Baltimore, national chairman of the legislative committee of the organization.

A report on the growth of the organization disclosed that there are 22 councils in as many cities of the State. Affiliated with nine of these senior councils are junior branches.

An independent campaign for the United Palestine Appeal for the Western Pennsylvania region will open Sunday evening, March 21, in Altoona, at the Strand Theater. Among the speakers will be Dr. Arnold Margolin and Benjamin Lencher, Assistant District Attorney of Allegheny County. The quota of this region is $10,000. Morris Neaman is the Executive Secretary.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund