Winter is Reelected President of Polish Jewish Federation
Menu JTA Search

Winter is Reelected President of Polish Jewish Federation

Download PDF for this date

A resolution protesting against the Polish government for the mistreatment of Jewish citizens of Poland was adopted at the annual convention of the Federation of Polish Hebrews which held its session in Newark. About 300 delegates participated, in the meeting which took place under the chairmanship of Benjamin Winter.

Rabbi Ezekiel Lipschitz of Poland, Rabbi Joseph Kanowitz of Newark, Rabbi I. Z. Grohbard, Louis Lipsky, and David A. Brown addressed the convention.

Other resolutions adopted urged the membership to support the Palestine rebuilding work, to participate in the American Jewish Congress movement, to aid the United Jewish Campaign and to demand representation for the Federation in the Executive of the Joint Distribution Committee.

A budget of $28,500 was adopted for the coming year, $13,000 having been raised at the convention in response to an appeal by Mr. Winter.

Mr. Winter was reelected president and Charles Green, vice-president. Other members of the Executive are Mr. S. Rosenfeld, Mr. H. Tasch, Mr. A. Schmidt, A. Rosenstein, H. Berman and Mr. S. Katz.

The convention also decided to take steps toward building a center in New York city for the members.

The cornerstone for the new synagogue being built by the Shaarei Zion Congregation, in Baltimore, Md., was laid. Rabbi Adolph Coblenz, of the Chizuk Amuno Synagogue; Rabbi Samuel Hurwitz, of the Ahavas Sholom Synagogue, and E. Milton Altfeld, Assistant State’s Attorney, were the principal speakers. Simon Land was chairman of the committee on arrangements. Emanuel Gorfine was the master of ceremonies.

The eighteenth annual convention of National Young Judaea, American Jewish youth organization, will meet at the Hotel Scarboro, Long Branch, N. J., on May 29.

The thirty-first annual meeting of the Home for Hebrew Infants was held in the main building of the institution, Sunday morning. Dr. Louis I. Harris, Commissioner of Health, was the principal speaker, and Aaron E. Norman, President of the Home, presented the annual report.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund