New York Federation Business Men’s Council Reorganized at Luncheon
Menu JTA Search

New York Federation Business Men’s Council Reorganized at Luncheon

Download PDF for this date

Percy S. Straus was elected President of the Business Men’s Council of the Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropic Societies, at a reorganization luncheon meeting at Hotel Pennsylvania, attended by more than five hundred representatives of 134 trades and professions. Speakers included Mayor James J. Walker, Sol M. Stroock, President of the Federation, Solomon Lowenstein, Executive Director, and William Goldman, Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Council.

Mayor Walker, in the principal address, lauded those present for extending their civic interest beyond their own commercial affairs and congratulated the Federation on its extensive philanthropic program.

Other officers elected include Vice-President Frederick Brown, Arthur Lehman and Felix M. Warburg; Treasurer, Dudley D. Sicher; Associate Treasurer, Isaac Liberman; Secretary, Ralph E. Samuel; Ex-Officio, Solomon Lowenstein and B. M. C. Director, Joseph Willen. The directors elected include Messrs. Oscar Abel, David A. Ansbacher, Eli Bernheim, Z. D. Bernstein, Herman W. Block. Samuel J. Bloomingdale, G. Richard Davis, Albert J. Erdmann, Col. Michael Friedsam, Bernard F. Gimbel, Leo J. Goldberger, Hon. Albert Goldman, William Goldman, James A. Goldsmith, I. Edwin Goldwasser, Maurice Goodman, Hon. Lester Lazarus. Harold A. Lebair, Sam A. Lewisohn, Herman Lissner, Bernard K. Marcus, Herbert S. Martin, Henry F. Samstag, David A. Schulte, Dudley D. Sicher, Jacob Sperber. Fred M. Stein, Morris Steinhardt, S. W. Straus, Manny Strauss, Nathan Wilson, Ira M. Younker and Adolph Zukor.

Mr. Solomon Lowenstein, executive director of the Federation, described the reorganization plan which will govern the Business Men’s Council hereafter. The new plan provides that membership in the money-raising branch of the Federation be limited to those elected to the council and acknowledging formal acceptance of their choice.

Supervision of the Business Men’s Council will be vested in the board of directors of forty-three members. selected this year from the councillors primarily and from among others added by the Board of Directors. In future years, the board will be elected by the membership.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund