Zionist Federation in Poland Splits over Question of Policy
Menu JTA Search

Zionist Federation in Poland Splits over Question of Policy

Download PDF for this date

(Jewish Telegraphic Agency Mail Service)

A split in the Zionist Federation of Poland has taken place.

The dispute arose at a plenary meeting of the Supreme Council held here to elect the new Presidium, over the question whether it was within the jurisdiction of the Supreme Council to direct the election campaign of the Zionist groups in the Republic. Deputy Dr. Reich for the East Galician Zionists and Dr. Schmarack for the West Galician Zionists declared that they could not accept the direction of the Supreme Council, regarding it as in contradiction to the Constitution of the Council.

The Zionists of congress Poland, on the other hand, contended that the Supreme Council had been formed in order to unite the whole of the Zionist forces in the Republic in the direction of a common attitude in internal politics. A resolution giving the Supreme Council power to conduct the elections was carried after a heated debate by 21 votes against 6 and Dr. Reich and Dr. Schmarack thereupon announced the withdrawal of their Federations from the Supreme Council.

The election of the Presidium was then proceeded with, two seats being left vacant for the Galician Zionists.

Deputy I. Gruenbaum was elected President of the Supreme Council and Dr. I. Gottlieb, Deputy Hartglass, Mr. Leon Levite, Mr. Seidenman, Senator Koerner, Deputy J. Rosenblatt and Mr. I. Berger of the Vilna District, were elected members of the Presidium.

The Zionist Federation of Poland, comprising the districts of Congress Poland, Vilna, Eastern Galicia and Western Galicia, was formed in March 1925.

The new Beth Jacob Synagogue in Lewiston, Me., was dedicated. The synagogue was erected at a cost of $40,000.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund