Menu JTA Search

Jewish Scientists Win Noble Prize in Physics

(Jewish Telegraphic Agency)

Professor James Franck of Goettingen and Professor Gustave Hertz of Halle were the winners of the Nobel prize in physics for this year. The prize was divided between the two scientists, Franck receiving the award for his research work in segregating and measuring molecules and atoms.

Franck is active in Jewish communal affairs and is a member of the Keren Hayesod Committee in Germany. He is interested in the work of the Hebrew University.

Gustave Hertz is of Jewish origin.