Greater Number of Women Enlisted in U.p. A. Work, Contributions Are Increased
Menu JTA Search

Greater Number of Women Enlisted in U.p. A. Work, Contributions Are Increased

Download PDF for this date

Having enlisted a greater number of women than in any previous year, the Women’s Division of the United Palestine Appeal for Greater New York has made substantial increases in the amounts received in the various districts of New York, headquarters of the appeal announced. The Women’s Division is headed by Mrs. Sol Rosenbloom as Honorary Chairman, Mrs. S. C. Lamport as Chairman for New York and Mrs. Israel Goldstein, Associate Chairman; Mrs. Louis Petchesky, Chairman for Brooklyn and Mrs. A. H. Slomka, Associate Chairman.

The women of the Bronx section who are united into one group, with Mrs. Benjamin Antin as Honorary Chairman, Mrs. D. A. Lubarsky and Mrs. Max Levien, as Chairmen, Mrs. P. Wechsler, Mrs. D. Paris and Mrs. R. Zuckerman, Chairmen of the three Hadassah groups in the district, are giving a luncheon and bridge at the Level Club, 253 W. 73rd St at noon of March 13th. Mrs. Irma L. Lindheim, National President of Hadassah, will be the speaker.

On that afternoon the Flatbush Division of Women’s Activities for the United Palestine Appeal will give a card party at the Midwood Inn, at which Mrs. Phillip Freeman will be the hostess, At the same time an appeal for Palestine funds will be made by Mme. Shomer Rothenberg at the annual meeting of the East New York Hebrew Benevolent Society.

The Washington Heights women are planning an affair at the Grand Street Boys Clubhouse, 106 W. 55th St, on March 14th, which will open with a luncheon and be termed a fashion show, with members of the Washington Heights United Palestine Appeal committee as models. Ittamar Ben Avi, editor of “Dor Hayom” of Palestine, and Mrs. Irma Lindheim, will speak. Advance reservations indicate that five hundred women will attend the function. The officers of this section are Mrs. Sarah Botein, Chairman; Mrs. Maurice Greenstein and Mrs. M. L. Jacobs, Associate Chairmen. Other leaders are Mrs. I. D. Wolf, Mrs. Harry Atlas, Mrs. Charlotte Antler, Mrs. D. Goldfarb, Mrs. S. Grubstein. Mrs. Rose Horowitz, Mrs. A. Levenson, Mrs. Sol Lubeil, Mrs. Bertha Pitzele, Mrs. L. Schnitzler, Mrs. I. M. Shaine, Mrs. Mildred D. Simon, Mrs. Grace Weinberg, Mrs. Morris Werner and Mrs. S. Bernadick.

One of the most active women’s groups in the greater city has been that in the West Side, where Mrs. A. Liebovitz is Honorary Chairman and Mrs. M. P. Epstein. Chairman. The closing rally of their campaign will be held on March 31 at the Hotel Majestic, where they expect to announce that their quota, the largest in the city, has been subscribed. Mrs. Irma Lindheim will deliver the main address.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund