Menu JTA Search

News Brief

Download PDF for this date

The controversy in the Zionist movement re-echoed here at a Passover celebration held at the Boston Y.M.H.A. following an address by Rabbi Irving Miller of Chelsea. Rabbi Miller deplored the dissension as a result of the recent resignations from the Zionist Administrative Committee.

A list of the Zionists who, in addition to Jacob de Haas, have signed the call for the oppositional conference which is scheduled to be held in Washington on April 29, was made public here. The list includes B. Epstein, Mrs. Caroline Greenfield, Aaron Horvitz, Edward Jacobs, Dr. Samuel Joseph, David Surdut, Robert Szold and Mrs. Jacob Sobel, all of New York; Prof. Felix Frankfurter, James D. Glunts, Albert Hurwitz, Peter M. Leavitt, Julius Meyer, and Rabbi H.H. Rubenovitz, all of Boston; Samuel Halprin of Brooklyn, N.Y., Dr. Harry Friedenwald of Baltimore, Dr. David Reiss and Dr. Alexander Wolf of St. Louis, Mo.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund