Menu JTA Search

5 Jewish Elected to South African Parliament

Five Jewish deputies were returned to the south African parliament inn the national elections just concluded. In the previous parliament the number of Jewish deputies was seven.

Morris Alexander, Constitutional Democrat, active in Jewish communal affairs, was defeated. Sir David Harris, member of the south African party and a deputy in the last House of Assembly, did not stand for election, retiring at the age of seventy. The elected members are Sir Ernest Oppenheimer, Eli Buirski, Emile Nathan and Charles P. Robinson of the south African Party, and M. Kentridge, Jewish labor member.