National Origins Quotas to Become Effective July First
Menu JTA Search

National Origins Quotas to Become Effective July First

Download PDF for this date

Germany, the Irish Free State, Sweden and Norway will suffer most, while Great Britain and Northern Ireland will benefit through the immigration quotas which will be effective July 1 under the national origins system, according to the text of President Hoover’s proclamation, putting the new system in force, just made public at the State Department.

The following table shows the principal changes in the number of immigrants to be admitted annually as compared with the present quotas which will be discarded on June 30:


origins Pres.

quota quota

Austria 1,413 785

Belgium 1,301 512

Czecho-Slovakia 2,874 3,073

Danzig, Free City of 100 228

Denmark 1,181 2,789

Finland 509 471

France 3,086 3,954

Great Britain and Northern

Ireland 65,721 34,007

Greece 307 100

Hungary 869 473

Irish Free State 17,853 28,567

Italy 5,802 3,842

Latvia 236 132

Netherlands 3,153 1,648

Norway 2,377 6,453

Poland 6,524 5,928

Portugal 440 503

Roumania 295 630

Russia (European and Asiatic) 2,784 2,248

Spain 252 131

Sweden 3,314 9,561

Switzerland 1,707 2,801

Turkey 226 100

Yugoslavia 845 671

The provisions of the immigration act of 1924 which had been postponed from going into effect, were approved by the Senate last week against the expressed desire of President Hoover, who opposed the national origins system in his acceptance speech during the Presidential campaign and in later statements.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund