Menu JTA Search

Would Limit South African Immigration to 50 Yearly from Non-nordic Countries

A bill providing that only 50 immigrants per year be admitted from countries other than the British Commonwealth, the United States and twelve countries in Europe was introduced today into the South African Parliament by Dr. Daniel Malan, Minister of the Interior.

If the restrictions are adopted, they will fall particularly hard on Lithuania, which for four years has led the list of countries from which immigrants have come to South Africa. Other countries which contributed heavily to immigration to South Africa in the last four year are Poland, Latvia, Russia and Palestine. A second reading of the bill is set for February 9.