Israel Weisfeld Heads Southern Orthodox Rabbis
Menu JTA Search

Israel Weisfeld Heads Southern Orthodox Rabbis

The joint conference of southern orthodox rabbis and laymen concluded its sessions here with the establishment of the Southern Orthodox Rabbinical Council to serve as a nucleus for directing Jewish communal activities in this section.

Rabbi Israel H. Weisfeld, of Miami, was elected president. Rabbi Benjamin G. Axelman, of Charleston, was chosen editor and secretary. Lay officers named to function in cooperation with the permanent organization were L. Weitz, Savannah, president; L. Hershkovitz, Nashville, first vice-president; L. Weinkle, Miami, second vice-president; William Pinsker, Savannah, secretary; Fred Rosen, Savannah, treasurer; Charles Garfunkel, Savannah, chairman of the executive committee, and Max Kupferstein, Miami, and Harry Stern, Nashville, assistant secretaries.

Decision to print and bind for publication all papers and messages read at the conference was made. The books, containing papers dealing with vital problems confronting orthodox Jewish congregations in the south today and plans for unifying and controlling Jewish communal affairs and education, as discussed at the conference, will be distributed to the congregations of the seven southern states represented.

SPONSORED: Take action. Take control. Get screened to protect the health of your future family. Request your kit at!