Yiddish Theatrical Circuit to Be Organized in Nine Cities
Menu JTA Search

Yiddish Theatrical Circuit to Be Organized in Nine Cities

Download PDF for this date

A Yiddish theatrical circuit which will include nine cities in the United States and Canada will be organized for the coming theatrical season, according to a resolution adopted by the Hebrew Actors’ Union at its meeting here on Tuesday, on the recommendation of Reuben Guskin, its manager.

Boston, Newark, Pittsburgh, Cleveland, Detroit, St. Louis, Montreal, Toronto and Winnipeg will be included in the circuit. One theatrical troupe will play four weeks in each city, where several troupes will play in rotation. Half of the salaries of the actors will be guaranteed by the Hebrew Actors’ Union. A strong propaganda campaign will be conducted throughout the country to interest potential Yiddish theatre goers in the circuit.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund