Cleveland Elects Delegates to Zionist Convention
Menu JTA Search

Cleveland Elects Delegates to Zionist Convention

Download PDF for this date

Over two hundred ballots were cast by the members of the Cleveland Zionist District for delegates to the forthcoming national Zionist convention which is to open in Cleveland, Sunday, June 29. The following were elected. The names are listed according to the number of votes received: Ezra Z. Shapiro, Isaac Carmel, Rabbi Barnett R. Brickner, Rabbi Harry Davidowitz, George J. Klein, A. H. Friedland and Harry Weinraub. The following five received the same number of votes: S. Rocker, Max Simon, Aaron Garber, Samuel Katz and Dr. Uriah Shapiro.

The general members’ meeting of the Cleveland Zionist District will be held Monday evening, at Zion Hall, for the purpose of discussing the problems facing the forthcoming national Zionist convention and also to greet Ezra Z. Shapiro, president of the Cleveland Zionist district, upon his return from an extensive tour of Palestine and Europe. The district members will also discuss the proposals made by the so called Brandeis-Mack group to the Administrative Committee of the Zionist Organization of America.

The Cleveland Zionist district announces the appointment of the following officers of convention committees: Ezra Z. Shapiro, chairman of the convention committee; Isaac Carmel, general secretary of convention committees; A. H. Friedland, chairman of press; Mrs. Arthur I. Fischer, chairman of the reception committee; Mrs. J. M. Lewis, chairman of arrangements and entertainment committee and D. I. Simon, chairman of finance committee.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund