Encourage Jewish Parents to Send Children to Palestine for Secondary Schooling
Menu JTA Search

Encourage Jewish Parents to Send Children to Palestine for Secondary Schooling

Download PDF for this date

A decision to launch a project to encourage Jewish parents to send their children to Palestine for secondary school education was taken at the concluding session of the 22nd annual convention of the National Young Judaea. It was also agreed to call a conference of leading educators to revaluate the Judaeans educational program. Plans were adopted for a national oratorical contest next year.

A budget of $30,000, exclusive of the Judaean magazine, was adopted for the coming year. The past deficit was reported cleared. A new form of government establishing a board of trustees and a national government board was adopted. The board is headed by Lt. Gov. Herbert Lehman of New York and Judge Julian W. Mack as honorary chairmen.

The membership of the board, the organization of which was announced by Dr. Israel Goldstein, president, in his annual report to the executive committee, includes Clarence W. Palitz, chairman, Congressman William W. Cohen, vice-chairman, Jonah L. Goldstein, Mrs. N. Taylor, Mrs. Harold Spielberg and Bernard Deutsch. The board of trustees will assume the financial burdens of Young Judaea.

Other members of the board are Judge Albert Cohen, Sundol Doniger. Harry Fierst, Jacob Klein, Jacob Levy, I. D. Morrison, Emanuel Neumann, Louis P. Rocker, Dr. David de Sola Pool, Theodore Racoosin, Mrs. Sol Rosenbloom, Irving Rosenzweig, Sidney Ross, Julius Silver, Mrs. Robert Szold, Phillip Wattenberg and Israel Wechsler. Charles Kroll is secretary.

The convention reelected Nathan Straus honorary president and Dr. Israel Goldstein president. Mrs. Archibald Silverman of Providence was named vice-president and Louis Rocker was chosen treasurer. Samuel J. Borowsky was again named executive director.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund