Menu JTA Search

Agency’s Political Commission Names Sub-committee to Discuss Proposals and Draft Resolutions

A sub-committee of six was appointed today by the political commission of the Jewish Agency to examine the various proposals submitted to the British government by the Jewish Agency and to draft resolutions. The sub-committee is composed of Bernard Kahn, David Ben Gurion, Kurt Blumenfeld, M. Goldman, Leo Motzkin and H. Farbstein.

At today’s first session of the political commission, Dr. Chaim Weizmann, president of the Jewish Agency, indicated the lines of policy to be pursued. Referring to the spontaneous protests of the various Jewries throughout the world against the British government’s action in suspending the immigration labor schedule, he said that while these protests were fully justified they certainly were not anti-British.

A discussion followed in which d’Avigdor Goldsmid, M. Goldman and G. Landauer participated. S. Kaplansky reported on the various proposals submitted to the government by the Jewish Agency and M. Jacobson, representative of the Jewish Agency at Geneva, reported on the situation there. H. Farbstein referred to the strong feeling prevalent in all sections of Jewry against the immigration stoppage and said that the Jews “saw in the government’s action an attempt to enact different laws for the Jewish and non-Jewish population.”

At its second session the political commission continued its discussion of the political situation with Nahum Sokolow, Bernard Kahn, Maurice Hexter, Kurt Blumenfeld, Meyer Dizengoff and David Remez taking part. Dr. Weizmann then made another statement and was followed by Harry Sacher.