United Front Again Prevails in American Zionism As 33rd Zionist Convention Vests Z. O. A. Control in
Menu JTA Search

United Front Again Prevails in American Zionism As 33rd Zionist Convention Vests Z. O. A. Control in

Download PDF for this date

The disunion in the ranks of American Zionism created at the Cleveland convention of 1921 when the Brandeis administration was ousted was replaced by a new spirit of harmony and good will at another Cleveland convention, the 33d, which closed here last night by turning the leadership of the Zionist Organization of America over to a coalition committee of 18, twelve representatives of the Brandeis-Mack group and six adherents of the present Zionist administration.

After waiting patiently for three days while the spokesmen for the two groups in American Zionism negotiated an agreement which replaced the Brandeis-Mack memorandum, the nearly 500 delegates burst into cheers when the coalition proposal was finally adopted. In addition to the committee of 18, in which control of the Z. O. A. is vested, the convention chose an executive committee of 40, divided equally between the two groups and a national council of 150, fifty to be selected by the Brandeis-Mack group. It was also decided that the next convention of the Z.O.A. should be held not later than December, 1931.

The report of the negotiators submitted at the afternoon session by Harry Freidberg of Kansas City presented the names of Israel Brodie, of Baltimore; Jacob de Haas of New York; Judge Julian W. Mack of New York; Mrs. Edward Jacobs of New York; Samuel J. Rosensohn of New York; Abraham Tulin of New York, Rabbi Louis I. Newman of San Francisco; Emanuel Neumann of New York; Rabbi Abba Hillel Silver of Cleveland; Robert Szold of New York; Rabbi Stephen S. Wise of New York and Dr. Nathan Ratnoff of New York as the twelve representatives of the Brandeis – Mack group.

The names of Louis Lipsky; Abraham Goldberg of New York; Rabbi James G. Heller of Cincinnati; Judge William M. Lewis of Philadelphia; Morris Rothenberg of New York, and Nelson Ruttenberg of New York, were presented as the six representatives of the present Zionist administration.


When the names of Mr. Tulin and Rabbi Wise were read they were greeted with hisses and boos. After the convention had heard the list of names read, from all parts of the hall delegates clamored for the floor. When quiet had been restored, Jacob Fishman, managing editor of the “Morning Journal,” was recognized. He declared that although he and his associates on the administrative committee were compelled to “swallow many bitter pills,” forcing them to accept Mr. Tulin and Rabbi Wise constituted “the worst yet.” Despite the objections of Mr. Fishman and Abraham Spicehandler and a number of others who demanded that the names be voted on seriatim the delegates ordered the convention secretary to cast one vote for the entire ticket of eighteen. With Mr. Lipsky urging the delegates to for-

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund