United Front Again Prevails in American Zionism As 33rd Zionist Convention Vests Z. O. A. Control in
Menu JTA Search

United Front Again Prevails in American Zionism As 33rd Zionist Convention Vests Z. O. A. Control in

Download PDF for this date

get their personal feelings in the matter for the sake of harmony in the Zionist movement, the resolution was carried.

Giving way under the strain of the prolonged and expectant waiting for the outcome of the conferences, the delegates and visitors gave vent to a tremendous outburst of enthusiasm when the result of the vote on the resolution was made known. Mr. Lipsky then invited the representatives of the Brandeis-Mack group at the convention to the platform. As Jacob de Haas, Robert Szold and Israel Brodie stepped up to the dais it was the signal for a renewed thunder of applause as the trio shook hands with Mr. Lipsky whose administration they had strenuously opposed for nine years. With Mr. Lipsky and his erstwhile opponents clasping hands as a symbol of the newly created unity in the ranks of American Zionism, the delegates spontaneously burst into song with Hatikvah.


When the enthusiasm at the conclusion of the long awaited peace had somewhat subsided, Rabbi Silver made a short address of thandsgiving in which he declared that henceforth there would not be two parties in American Zionism and that the expression “Brandeis-Mack group” would disappear from the parlance of Zionists. Rabbi Silver assured the delegates that the slate would be wiped clean of all personal ill-will and the Z.O.A. would now go before American Jewry as a united group.

Following his eloquent appeal to wipe out the deficit of the Z.O.A. the enthusiastic delegates pledged upwards of $100,000 within twenty minutes. This sum with the $25,000 pledged Sunday night leaves $32,000 still to be raised.

The terms of the peace agreement also provide that the Brandeis-Mack group should have representation on the council of the Jewish Agency. In order to effect this representation it was indicated that Judge William M. Lewis of Philadelphia, now a member of the council, would resign and Judge Julian W. Mack would be appointed in his place.


Among the other actions of the convention before it adjourned was the adoption of a resolution calling upon Great Britain to revoke its ruling forbidding the entrance into Palestine of Vladimir Jabotinsky, leader of the Zionists-Revisionists and founder of the Jewish Legion which, under General Allenby, aided in the conquest of Jerusalem. His exclusion from Palestine was termed a nullification of the spirit of the Balfour Declaration.

The convention also sent the following message to President Hoover. “Hon. Herbert Hoover,

President of the United States.

“We the delegates of the thirty-third annual convention of the Zionist Organization of America, wish to express to you, on behalf of the Zionists of America, our deep appreciation and gratitude for the inspiring words which you sent to us in your message to the opening of the convention.

“Your interest in the rebuilding of Palestine as the Jewish National home has been a source of encouragement for many years. It has been expressed to us on many occasions when your words have given Zionists courage and hope. But your message at this critical period attains in our eyes an enduring significance.

“It indicates to the Jews of the United States, as well as of the entire world, that the Government of the United States is keeping a watchful eye on the progress of the ideal of rebuilding the Jewish national home, which it approved in a unanimous joint resolution of Congress in 1922.

“It tells us that the hopes of 4,000,000 American Jews have the sympathy of our fellow-citizens.

“Your expression of hope that ‘the discouragements of the moment will presently be removed’ gives us assurance that you are deeply concerned with the grave problems which confront the ideal of Zionism today.

“We extend to you our best wishes and thank you for your message, which brings to us reassurance and inspiration.”


The new executive committee elected is as follows: Isaac Allen, Baltimore; Rabbi Barnett R. Brickner, Cleveland; Charles A. Coen, New York; Mrs. Judith Epstein, New York; Benjamin Evarts, Holyoke, Mass.; Jacob Fishman, New York; Edward Friedman, Far Rockaway, L. I.; Dr. Harry Friedenwald, Baltimore; Pearl Franklin, Chicago; Judge Harry M. Fisher, Chicago; David Freiberger, New York; Israel Goldberg, Brooklyn; Isador Goldberg; Rabbi Solomon Goldman, Chicago; Abraham Goldstein, Hartford, Conn.; Dr. Mordecai M. Kaplan, New York; Laurence Levine, New York; Israel Matz, Brooklyn; Dr. S. Margoshes, New York; Morris Margulies, Brooklyn; Bernard G. Richards, New York; Louis P. Rocker, New York; Mrs. Sol Rosenbloom, Pittsburgh; Dr. A. J. Rongy, New York; Bernard Rosenblatt, New York; Herman G. Robbins, Arverne, L. I.; Herman R. Segal, New York; Norman Salit, New York; Elihu D. Stone, Boston; A. Spicehandler, Brooklyn; Mrs. Robert Szold, New York; Mrs. Archibald Silverman, Providence, R. I.; Dr. Israel Wechsler, New York; Leo Wolfsen, New York; Morris A. Zeldin, Brooklyn; Prof. Gustav Klausner, St. Louis; Peter Levitt; Max Shulman, Chicago and Joseph Weiss, New York.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund