National Council Studies Needs of Canadian Jewish Women
Menu JTA Search

National Council Studies Needs of Canadian Jewish Women

Download PDF for this date

The special needs of the Jewish women of Canada are being studied by the National Council of Jewish Women, which will adjust the program of its twelve departments to meet the requirements of activities in that country.

The women who have already been appointed by Mrs. Joseph E. Friend, president of the organization, are:

Mrs. Percy Hernant of Toronto, for the Department of Civics and Community Cooperation; Mrs. E. H. Sugarman of Vancouver, for the Department of Extension and Field Service; Mrs. F. Petersky of Vancouver, for the Department of Peace; and Mrs. Max Heppner of Winnipeg, for the Department of Vocational Guidance and Employment. Mrs. A. Levy of Toronto is serving as a member of the National Committee of the Department of Service for the Foreign Born, and Mrs. H. B. Kahn of Vancouver as a member of the Committee on Deaf and Hard of Hearing. Mrs. E. R. Sugarman is also the president of the Western Interstate Conference of Council Sections, which includes the sections in Western Canada.

There are Council Sections in the following Canadian cities: Calgary— Mrs. Sarah Bercuson, president; Edmonton—Mrs. H. Bloomfield, president; Hamilton—Mrs. S. Freshman, president; Toronto—Mrs. H. Samuel, president; Vancouver—Mrs. H. B. Kahn, president and Winnipeg—Mrs. Max Heppner, president.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund