Mrs. Forman Named President of Temple Sisterhoods District
Menu JTA Search

Mrs. Forman Named President of Temple Sisterhoods District

Download PDF for this date

Mrs. Joseph Forman of Roanoke was elected president of District No. 8, National Federation of Temple Sisterhoods. She succeeds Mrs. Sadie M. Kirsch of Richmond.

Other officers named were: Mrs. Eli Oettinger, Greensboro, N. C., second vice-president; Mrs. F. I. Rypins, Roanoke, recording secretary; and Mrs. Harry B. Wolff, Baltimore, treasurer. Other officers whose terms have not yet expired are: Mrs. Stanford Z. Rothschild, Baltimore, first vice-president; and Mrs. Bertram Grant, Wilmington, Del., corresponding secretary. Reports of committees, district chairmen and representatives of sisterhoods throughout the district, which comprises Maryland, Delaware, Virginia, District of Columbia and Greensboro, N. C., were heard.

A symposium on “The Sisterhoods’ Relation to the Religious Schools” was led by Mrs. J. O. Berliner, Washington; Mrs. Hattie S. Weinberg, Greensboro, and Miss Sadie Harrison, Roanoke. Rabbi Samuel H. Goldenson of Pittsburgh delivered the address at a banquet which took place in the Hotel Roanoke in the evening.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund