A. D. Bearman of Memphis Elected Head of P. O. W.
Menu JTA Search

A. D. Bearman of Memphis Elected Head of P. O. W.

Download PDF for this date

For the first time in 12 years the Progressive Order of the West elected a grand master from a city other than Chicago when A. D. Bearman of Memphis was chosen grand master at the closing session of the Order’s 27th biennial convention. Former grand master B. Frank, was elected first vice-grand master. Louis Sobol of Chicago, second vice-grand master, J. L. Spector of Philadelphia, third vice-grand master, Sam Fortas of Memphis, fourth vice-grand master, C. Carshon of Forth Wayne, fifth, Sam Maurer of New York, sixth, Jacob Zuckerman of Cleveland, seventh, S. D. Frey of Syracuse, eigth, G. Hament of Baltimore, ninth, H. Rosenthal of Milwaukee, tenth, H. Friedman of Cincinnati, eleventh and Max Goldberg of Shreveport, Louisiana, twelfth.

Morris Shapiro of St. Louis, for 20 years national grand secretary, was reelected. Frank Lipman was named treasurer and I. D. Goldberg of St. Louis grand beneficiary treasurer. Mr.Bearman, the new grand master, is an attorney. He is chairman of the B’nai Brith Home in Memphis, a member of the Federation board and chairman of the Memphis People’s Tool committee.

Preceding the election of officers the convention, which had been in session since Sunday, sent a message of felicitation to Nahum Sokolow, president of the World Zionist Organization and adopted a resolution expressing confidence in Dr. Chaim Weizmann. A resolution calling for the establishment of a colony in Palestine in the name of the Order at an expenditure of $10,000 was tabled.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund