Milwaukee Jew Wins Nomination for Congress
Menu JTA Search

Milwaukee Jew Wins Nomination for Congress

Download PDF for this date

Joseph A. Padway, active in Jewish circles in this city, has won the Republican nomination for Congressman here.

William B. Rubin, Jewish candidate of the Democratic party for governor, was defeated.

In addition to Mr. Padway five other Jews won nomination on the Republican ticket. They are Bernhard Gettelman, for Secretary of State; Solomon Levitan, for State Treasurer; Oscar Morris, for State Senator; Mrs. Flora R. Zien, for the State Assembly, and Charles Reichenbach, for sheriff.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund