Interstate Conference of Council of Jewish Women
Menu JTA Search

Interstate Conference of Council of Jewish Women

Download PDF for this date

The Interstate Conference of the Council of Jewish Women, arranged by Minneapolis and St. Paul sections, opened here to day. Representatives from Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois and Winnipeg are attending.

Mrs. Hannah G. Solomon of Chicago, founder of the national organization and honorary president, was principal speaker. Other speakers included: Mrs. Lester Rees, president of the Minneapolis section, and Mrs. Samuel Friedman, president of the St. Paul section.

An institute on “Modern Trends in Social Service — the Council’s Place Therein” was conducted at the afternoon session by Samuel Goldsmith, Executive Director of the Chicago Jewish Charities. Mrs. Gerson Levy, president of the Chicago section, led the discussion.

Mrs. Arthur Brin, president of the national Council of Jewish Women spoke on “Facing a Changing World” at the dinner meeting in St. Paul today. Other speakers included Mrs. Solomon; Mrs. M. Barbe, honorary vice-president; Mrs. Israel Cowen, Chicago, nd Frances Hoffman, national president of the Council of Jewish Juniors.

The business sessions will open tomorrow morning. Amy Woods of New York, Economic Referrant of the Women’s International League, will conduct an institute on “Economic Security Without Armament.” Internal problems of policy will be discussed at the afternoon session.

Mrs. Charles Rauch, Minneapolis, and Mrs. Milton Firestone, St. Paul, are co-chairmen of general arrangements for the conference.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund