Re-elect Ruttenberg President of Jewish National Fund
Menu JTA Search

Re-elect Ruttenberg President of Jewish National Fund

Download PDF for this date

Nelson Ruttenberg, Zionist leader and Deputy Police Commissioner of the City of New York, was the unanimous choice of representatives of all Zionist parties and groups as the President of the Jewish National Fund of America. This will be Mr. Ruttenberg’s second term as President, having first been elected to this office in October, 1931.

An Administrative Committee of 14 and a Board of Directors of 48, comprising representatives of the Zionist Organization of America; of Hadassah, the Women’s Zionist Organization of America; of the Mizrachi, the Orthodox Zionist Organization of America; of Poale Zion-Zeire Zion, the Zionist Socialist Labor Party; and of the Order Sons of Zion were chosen at the annual meeting which was presided over by Mr. Ruttenberg. The other officers elected are: Solomon Lamport, treasurer; Louis Rimsky, associate-treasurer; Isaac H. Rubin, secretary. As members of the Administrative Committee, the following were elected: Samuel Bonchek, Meyer L. Brown, Ephraim Caplan, Miss Eudice Elkind, Samuel Fishman, Leib Glantz, Abraham Goldberg, Harry Karp, Rabbi I. M. Kowalsky and Morris Margulies.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund