Temple Keneseth Israel Marks Its Twenty-fifth Anniversary
Menu JTA Search

Temple Keneseth Israel Marks Its Twenty-fifth Anniversary

Download PDF for this date

The twenty-fifth anniversary of the dedication of Temple Keneseth Israel was observed here with impressive exercises in the temple.

Rabbi Harry Caplan presided and the speakers were Rabbi Julian Feibleman, of Temple Keneseth Israel, Philadelphia, and General Frank D. Beary, commissioner of police of Allentown.

The Congregation Keneseth Israel was incorporated on July 6, 1903. Among the pioneer members of Allentown Jewry whose leadership and sacrifices served as an inspiration in the founding of the congregation were Henry Schnurman, Simon Rosentiel, Levi Simon, Joshua Schnurman, Lewis Dreifoos and Joseph Schnurman. Henry Haltzel is president of the congregation at the present time.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund