Zionist Regions Elect Officers for Activities
Menu JTA Search

Zionist Regions Elect Officers for Activities

Download PDF for this date

A testimonial dinner to Morris Rothenberg, president of the Zionist Organization of America, culminated the central and southwest Zionist regional convention held here.

Prof. Gustave Klausner of St. Louis was re-elected regional president. Other administrative officers chosen are: Dr. Alexander S. Wolf, St. Louis, chairman of the Zionist organization; Harry Friedberg, Kansas City, chairman of American Palestine Campaign; Philip Klutznick, Omaha, chairman of youth and education; Mrs. A. I. Blotcky, Des Moines, chairman of the Jewish National Fund; Barney Baron, Sioux City, chairman of Palestine economic work; Mrs. M. F. Levenson, Omaha, and Hyman Gordon, Kansas City, vice-presidents; Wm. L. Holzman, Omaha, treasurer; A. Goodman, St. Louis, associate-treasurer; Sol Goldman, St. Louis, secretary; and Mendel N. Fisher, St. Louis, executive director.

The uniting of all Jewry in one movement for the work of rebuilding Palestine as the Jewish Homeland was stressed at the conference. The convention approved of a quota of $50,000 to be raised in the region.

Mr. Rothenberg, now on a transcontinental tour in the interests of the Zionist work has been honored in Minneapolis and St. Paul where he addressed meetings last week.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund