American Academy of Jewish Research to Mark 800th Anniversary of Maimonides
Menu JTA Search

American Academy of Jewish Research to Mark 800th Anniversary of Maimonides

Download PDF for this date

Plans for the celebration of the 800th anniversary of the birth of Maimonides with the publication of the collected writings of the great Jewish mediaeval philosopher, were announced at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Jewish Research held at the Jewish Theological Seminary, Wednesday afternoon.

Dr. Alexander Marx, President of the Academy, expressed the belief that the first two volumes of the collected writings as edited by scholars of the American Academy for Jewish Research would be ready for publication in 1935, the Maimonides anniversary. The editing of the complete series of writings, Dr. Marx said, would require fifteen or twenty years.

Two volumes sponsored by the Academy, the third volume of the Proceedings of the the Academy and the first volume of Kossowsky’s Concordance to the Tosefta, published in Jerusalem, have made their appearance, it was announced.

Dr. H. G. Enelow of Temple Emanu-El, described the discovery by him of an old Jewish classic. The work titled “The Midrash of 32 Rules of Interpretation,” is frequently referred to by many of the rabbis of the middle ages. Modern scholars, however, had regarded the volume as a whole as lost. Dr. Enelow described his finding of the lost Midrash by his accidental attraction to a passage in an old Yemenite manuscript at the Jewish Theological Seminary.

Others who presented papers at the meeting of the Academy were Dr. Solomon Gandz of the Yeshiva, whose subject was the origin and development of the Hebrew Arabic numerals in connection with the history of Semitic and Greek numerals, Joshua Starr of Columbia University on “The Legal Status of the Jews in the Byzantine Empire After Justinian,” and Dr.

S. L. Skoss of Dropsie on “Saadjah-Gaon.”

Dr. Marx was re-elected President of the Academy. Other officers chosen were: Dr. Israel Davidson, vice-president; Dr. Jacob Lauterbach, Hebrew Union College, treasurer ; Dr. Salo Baron, Corresponding Secretary ; Dr. Leo Jung, Recording Secretary. Executive Committee : Dr. H. G. Enelow, New York; Dr. Julian Morgenstern, President of Hebrew Union College, Cincinnati; Prof. Isaac Husek, University of Pennsylvania; Prof. Louis Ginzberg, Jewish Theological Seminary; Dr. Harry A. Wolfsohn, Harvard; Dr. S. L. Skoss of Dropsie, and Dr. Solomon Zaitlin, Dropsie College, Philadelphia.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund