Induct Officers of Brith Sholom Lodge; 300 New Members
Menu JTA Search

Induct Officers of Brith Sholom Lodge; 300 New Members

Download PDF for this date

The newly elected officers of Royal Lodge 198 of the Independent Order Brith Sholom were installed in a special ceremony held on Thursday evening at the Pennsylvania Hotel.

Addresses were delivered by A. Sigmund Kanengieser, Grandmaster of the Order; Judge William M. Lewis, former Grandmaster; Louis Levine, the retiring president of the Lodge; Harold S. Budner, the new president and Morris I. Goldman, the new vice-president.

Other officers inducted included, George O. Arkin, Treasurer; Samuel Fine, Treasurer of the Loan Fund; Max M. Feldman, Financial Secretary; Morris Rosoff, Recording Secretary; and the following Trustees, Herman Z. Rothstein, Joseph D. Albert and Edward Whitman.

In the past week, the lodge has initiated three hundred new members. Special ceremonies were arranged to mark the occasion, the first of which took place on December 27th, and the second on Thursday evening, at the Hotel Pennsylvania.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund